January 4

Travel back to Alaska…

Today I started at 6:00am from Memphis for the trip back to Cordova.  It was supposed to take just today, but the last flight from Anchorage to Cordova did not occur due to the heavy fog in Cordova.  Some people were texting friends or family who said this was not bad, but I think the airline has to make the call and what they choose is best.

The most interesting part of the trip was the transfer of planes from United to Alaska in O’Hare.  I had arranged to have a wheelchair as my past experience told me it was long way and I had less then an hour to make it.

I ended up not getting a wheelchair and I tried to find the concourse to no avail. I finally asked a pilot and he looked it up for me and pointed me in the right direction.  Then I              tried to ask United moving units for help, but they all said I could not have help since they did not cover the flight I was on.

Finally I asked a moving unit with a generic type name and that guy said he would get me there.  He really m oved through the big crowd and I finally arrived at my destination just as they were boarding.  Clearly, I would never have made it on my own.  He beeped his horn and shouted at people to get out of the way as we zoomed through the crowds.  I am going to find out how to get one of these units to meet my plane in the future.  It is the key to getting there safely and on time.

I stayed in Anchorage with our volunteer who also did not make it to Cordova although she had been on a different fight.  We were able to get the morning flight to Cordova the next day and I  flew home and then went to work.

Father, you are wonderful to make tense situations work out well and I am thankful for all you do for me daily.  You are an awesome God.  Amen.

Deuteronomy 10:17

Leave a Reply

