January 27

Being considerate….

I wonder how much people think about being considerate in this modern day and age.  Personally I find myself thinking about it a lot.  I think this is because I also find myself waiting often for parents to pick up their children from activities at the Christian Center.

This year is definitely than years past when I had to wait as much as 90 minutes beyond the time the activity ended for some parents to pick up their child.  Now it seems that 30 minutes is more common.  Usually this is not quite a big deal unless I have a meeting and then I find myself wishing they would come sooner rather than later.

Another thing that bothers me in this regard is the fact that some kids have to call their parent or frequently parents every week in order to get picked up at all and then it is always a wait.  I try to remember to have them call early, but if I forget, it just takes longer for the parent to arrive.

I have a pretty hard and fast rule that kids must attend for the entire time of the activity and that is because I really want them there for the Bible story and lesson portion of the event.  They like to just come for games or for the meal associated with the activity.  Yesterday I had no less than five kids who either wanted to leave early or arrived after the Bible lesson.  I reiterated my rule and told them starting next week there would be no exceptions.

I am fairy certain that one dad who arrived a half hour early to pick up his son did so because last week, the son called and then went home with someone else because the did did not arrive as quickly as he thought was necessary.  Maybe that dad was bothered by the lack of consideration too.  I am not sure, but I hope so. Between the two of this I hope this is the case.

I do know that teaching consideration is one more thing I need to add to the list of what I am trying to convey at these activities.  I hope I am successful.

Father, thank you for giving me patience and helping me every week when it becomes an issue. thank you for blessing me.  Amen.

Hebrews 10:24

Leave a Reply

