February 1

Today was a first…..

I was on technical support with India and Alaska at the same time.  Both sites were in control of my testing computer and it was funny to see.

Then the support person from India lost control of the computer and had to regain it.  I could not help since they had control of my mouse.  It is really rather strange, but in the world of technology, it is no doubt very common.  It just shows again that in the big scheme of things I am truly a Digital Immigrant. Gosh, I am glad there is no ban on me.

We are studying aging in Sociology this week and today’s assignment is to develop an Eldertopia.  I hope some of the kids come up with one where the elders can teach skills they are really good at and the kids can teach the elders about technology.  It will be interesting to see what they develop.  They are on their own in this assignment and there are no restrictions to what they can devise.

Of course I have a lot of ideas, but I am purposely not giving them to the students.  It is designed to see how creative they can be.

I guess that is why I still love teaching.  It is fun to see how they learn and how their minds work when they are given an assignment.

Father, I am so thankful for our minds and the wonderful creativity you have given us.  Help me to use mine wisely.  Amen.

Psalm 8

 

Leave a Reply

