February 3

Iceworm..

The biggest events of the entire Iceworm Festival are the Variety Show which includes the crowning of the Iceworm Queen and announcing the Citizen of the Year and the Iceworm Parade.  The parade is scheduled for tomorrow and the Variety Show is tonight.

A year ago I received the honor of being named Citizen of the Year and it has been fun. People still come up and talk to me about being the Citizen of the Year.  This is my last day to have that honor in an active sense.

The man who held this honor before me and I were invited to come to the Iceworm committee to help choose this year’s honoree.  However, I have no idea who that is.  we read all the nominations and then we had to rank them in a Google Survey document.  It will definitely be interesting to see who wins this honor and who is crowned the queen too. I have three of the candidates in my classes and I truly do wonder who will win.

It’s all a lot of fun and people in the community really get excited about it which is nice.

After the parade the local telephone cooperative and wireless companies host an Iceworm birthday party with cake and ice cream and photos.  I take photos of any one with the baby iceworm and it is always fun.  This year should be even better as there is a brand new baby iceworm costume which is quite different from the old one and people will be keen to be seen with him, I think.

My prayer is that in the midst of all the fun and hoopla people will remember to be kind and pleasant.  It is easy to lose sight of that when you are trying to get the best seat or the best place to stand to see the parade.

Father, help me to be a shining example of your love and kindness always and especially during the Iceworm events.  Let me display the fruits of the spirit in a special way this weekend.  You are amazing and I am so blessed.  Amen.

Galatians 5:22

Leave a Reply

