February 8

Blogging…

Blogging has been on my mind more than usual this week since we are studying social media in my Sociology class at school.

The students are quite open with their thoughts and don’t mind sharing them quickly.  It is apparent that most of what I have read about social media is correct.  The kids affirm the information I present in class.

Facebook is on the way out with them because it has been embraced by their parents so thoroughly.  They say they will still view photos that are posted, but to use it themselves–no way.

Instagram is also going to follow this trend as more and more parents are getting an Instagram account.  The kids are using Snapchat and Twitter almost exclusively and looking for other sites too.  They are into blocking people and keeping things private from others who are not their friends or peers.

The thing about all of this that amazes me is the amount of energy it takes to keep up with all of this.  It is a lot more than I want to give social media so I have confined myself to blogging and posting school and event photos on Facebook but that is all.

Am I crazy?  I don’t think so.  I think we should use whatever social media we are comfortable with and that which we have time to use.  I am happy with my choices.

Father, thank you for the opportunity to make choices.  I love you. Amen.

2 Peter 3:9

Leave a Reply

