February 21

Birthdays….

Today is one of my grandson’s birthdays.  I can easily remember when he was born in Anchorage 15 years ago.  My husband and I were both there.  When his sister was born four years later, we were home in Cordova and our grandson was with us.

He lived here until he was nine so I spent a lot of time with him.  I do see him every year at least once and often more than that.  He is a nice young man and best of all he has made a commitment to Jesus.

His mom texted me that he is busy until 10:00 tonight so that means he must be involved in some school or Scout activity.  I will try to call him when he gets home to wish him Happy Birthday.

In our family it is tradition for us (grandparent) to call the birthday child or son or daughter and sing happy birthday to him/her and then talk a bit.  I look forward to this.  I have often wondered if the birthday person looks forward to it as well.  I guess I need to ask to find out.

I am big on traditions.  I think they are an important part of the fabric of our lives.  A quick search on Google reveals that this is true.  Traditions play a big role in our lives and in our families and we rely on those memories.  I work hard to honor those traditions in our family and to help create new ones.

Father, thank you for my grandson and his birthday and thank you for traditions in our lives.  Amen.

2 Thessalonians 2:15

 

Leave a Reply

