March 2

Recipes…..

Through a mixup I ended up with an over-abundance of apples this fall.  I love eating apples so I thought it would be no problem.  However, I didn’t estimate just how many apples I had and in spite of eating two a day I still had way too many.

I used a lot in baking, but then I kind of ran out of steam.  Some of them came bad from the box and I was pretty OK with that, but then I still had more than I could easily deal with.

The outsides weren’t very good, but I thought the inside would be OK.  So I turned to one of my favorite tried and true recipes:  Apple Squares.  You can tell from my recipe card that this is a favorite.  At one point it got so faded that I recopied the recipe to the side of the original in dark ink.

They turned out just as I expected and taste delicious.  So far all those who have tried them agree with my assessment.

Memories are great and good recipes are among those special memories

Apple Squares

Grease a 9×13″ pan.  Turn oven to 350.

3 eggs

1 3/4 C sugar

1 C oil

2 C flour

1 tsp.baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

2 C apple slices (peeled and cored apples)

Mix together and pour into pan.  Bake for 45 minutes.  Place on rack to cool.  Cut into squares to serve.

Father, thanks for great memories and great recipes.  You know how much I love to bake and cook.  Amen.

John 14:26

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

