March 16

Pandesal……

High school kids get a week for Spring Break as do college kids.  College staff get one day, tomorrow.  I took an extra day today to get some things finished that I haven’t been able to get to.

I decided to go to the hospital to see my friend early in the day and one of the CNAs asked me to try her Pandesal.  It’s a bun with bread crumbs on top that you eat for breakfast.  It was pretty firm consistency wise and a little done.  She laughed and told me it didn’t turn out right.

When I went home, I had already decided to bake some bread to deliver to others and then I decided to try pandesal.  I took some back to my friend before she got off work and she said it was good, but it was not pandesal.  All of her co-workers, also Filipinos, agreed it was good, but not pandesal.  When I protested mildly that I used a pandesal recipe which was very close to the one she had told me she used, the problem was not in the bun.  It was the fact that I did not have very fine bread crumbs on top.

I didn’t have any plain ones at home and I tried to make some, but they were not very fine.  I honestly thought that was funny, but  next time I will use some.  They even told me I should take orders and they would pay, but I don’t want to do that.  I’ll make them again and use bread crumbs and see if that works.  It was a fun experiment.

Father, thank you for giving me fun times.  Help me to always be an encouragement for others.  Amen.

I Thessalonians 5:11

Leave a Reply

