March 21

The second day of Spring…

Actually I thought today was the first day of Spring, but I was wrong.  The temperature was up to 40 yesterday and it was a beautiful day.  The sun was shining after intermittent snow and the roads were really clearing up.  It was a great day.

In my reading about drawing a circle around people Mark Battleson, the author, suggest drawing a double circle, first prayer and then a fast.  When we think of a fast we usually think of abstaining from food for a certain time, but he suggests lots of other fasts too.  A media fast, a television fast, whatever will encourage your prayer life.  I have been thinking about what kind of fast I should use.

In my reading about fasting I realize that there are several types of fasts.  I am determined to eliminate candy from my life until Easter.  This will be longer than the traditional 21 day fast, but I think this will be good for me. Unfortunately I have a lot of candy at my house and I will need to put it out of sight and be less tempted to eat it.

Every thing I have read about fasting indicates that I should have a specific purpose for it and I am going to fast for the salvation of a dear friend.  I fear her time on earth is nearing an end and  I have prayed for her salvation in the past.  Now I feel led to draw a double circle around her.

Putting it down here will make me accountable in keeping this fast and prayer .

Father, help me to be strong for you and to trust in your blessing.  I honor you and give you the glory for whatever you are going to do for my friend.  I love you.  Amen.

Matthew 6:33

 

 

Leave a Reply

