April 3

More snow….

We woke up to more snow this morning, but it was only a dusting.  The streets are pretty clear and it was not difficult driving down the hills which is a real blessing. I don’t mind snow, but I am glad that it has not affected driving conditions.

Some people are shook up that it is not like Spring, but I know that Spring will come and the snow will go.  I remember the year that it snowed May 5 and all the school kids were upset.  They were moaning that there would be piles of snow on graduation day, but I assured them this wouldn’t happen.  And sure enough the snow was gone.  When the temperatures rise and the rains come, the snow does go.  We just need to remember this.

Personally, I want to focus on other things like Easter.  We are doing Easter crafts at Good  News Kids and showing movies about Palm Sunday, the Resurrection and the post resurrection.  I am thinking about Easter treats I can bake and I have been knitting Easter eggs.  I love Easter and I wish we did more to celebrate it.  I always think of Christmas and and how big our celebrations and preparations are and then I think of Easter which really is the most important day in the year and we do so little in comparison. That bothers me a lot.

I am trying to teach the kids in Sunday School about many of the aspects of Easter.  One little girl told me yesterday that I had already told part of the story before.  I told her I knew that, but we all needed to be reminded of how important the story was.  She seemed satisfied by that answer and listen quietly to the rest of the story.

The Easter eggs are a reminder of a gift that a friend gave me years ago.  It was a knitted basket filled with knitted eggs.  I played hide and seek with those eggs for years with my grandkids and also the preschool kids.  It was a lot of fun.

Let’s just celebrate the blessings of Easter.

Father, thank you for Jesus and his sacrifice on the cross for us.  Thank you for the blessings of your gift.  It is wonderful and amazing.  Amen.

I Peter 1:3

Leave a Reply

