April 4

Susan’s folly….

First it was my grandson’s folly and today it is mine.

I got up early to make one of my favorites:  Peanutbutter, banana, chocolate chip muffins.  The butter did not mix in as well as it should have, and it was softened, but I thought, “Oh, well.”  I put the muffins in the oven and got busy on my mind mapping and Bible reading.

When the timer rang and I got the muffins out, they seemed small in comparison with past times.  Then it dawned on me, I had forgotten both the baking powder and baking soda.  That was a first, but it explained the muffins.

My grandson said they were a little bitter.  I tasted them and did not have that same reaction, but they were dense and moist.

I gave two away to a girl at school and she said they could be a lot worse.  She readily took them.

I even looked at the recipe, but obviously I must have glanced over it a little two quickly.  I will make them again this week.  I still have plenty of bananas and you can be sure I won’t forget the leavening agents again.

The thing is it was kind of funny and I could laugh.  I can remember mistakes when I first got married and then I would burst into tears.  Age has certainly made a difference. And that is good from my perspective.  From tears to laughter is a wonderful thing.

Looking back on the morning, I think I was distracted thinking about several things coming up today and I can admit it, I just forgot.

I am thankful that it was not a big thing and that I can now laugh at mistakes.

Father, thank you for the gift of laughter and the ability to laugh at myself.  It is a good thing.  I am blessed.  Amen.

Isaiah 41:10

 

Leave a Reply

