April 7

Birthdays…

Tonight we celebrated the birthday of a ten year old boy, the son of a friend of ours.  We went to his house for dinner and birthday cake.

Everything went well and he seemed to like his gift certificate to the local book/toy store.  I was actually surprised at how many different items were available for kids his age when I went to get the gift certificate and I was glad.  I wanted him to have a choice.

One part of the birthday that never seems to change is the singing of Happy Birthday.  I’m glad.  This is such a great time honored tradition in our country.  I wonder if it is also true in other countries and cultures. I suspect not, unless they have some contact with America. I also wonder how they celebrate birthdays.  I haven’t ever done any research so I truly have no idea, but it is something I am interested in knowing so I will look into it.

For me the big thing is the tradition part of it.  I think tradition and memories are the stuff of life that make us feel loved and connected to one another.  This is the way God wants us to    love one another.  It isn’t the gifts or the actual parts of the celebration, it is the caring, the showing one another how we love each other.

I always feel badly when I hear about people who do not celebrate in any way.  I encourage all of you to develop traditions if you don’t have them and to keep them if you do.  It builds us up and helps us grow closer together.

Father, thank you for loving us so much and helping us find ways to encourage one another in love.  Amen.

2 Thessalonians 2:15

Leave a Reply

