April 18

Quotes….

Some of the high school Seniors are still laboring over their quotes and I confess to not being a silent listener.  I have been giving my opinion freely.

They have been perusing quotes on the Internet and what they are finding (quotes from Seniors in other yearbooks) are mostly unkind, rather idiotic, not fitting and my list of adjectives could go on and on.

I tried to reason with them about the fact that this is written down in a public place and will follow them.  Granted not everyone looks at the yearbook, but it is surprising how many people do go back and look at them repeatedly.

I have also tried to get them to think about their family members and specifically their mothers.  How will they feel upon reading these comments.  It is tricky trying to get them to think about the bigger picture, but I haven’t given up.

The other thing to think about in this big picture is something I just learned when I spoke with my sister in law.  An estate auctioneer told her that one of the biggest, most sought after items are old yearbooks.  Imagine that!  This is ammunition for my opinions.

I will have to wait and see what decision they make.

Father, you are the best.  Thank you for your love and guidance and the wisdom you give us.  Help us to take advantage of it and put it to good use in our lives.  Amen.

James 1:5

Leave a Reply

