April 30

Birthdays….

Today is my daughter’s birthday.  She texted me yesterday to let me know her gift had arrived in the mail for which I am very thankful.  I was tardy in sending it so having it arrive before her actual special day was a blessing. It will be interesting to see what she thinks of it.

She sent me a message that she would open it once her youngest daughter got home from choir practice.  I got the message that she did open it when I was at Missions this evening at church.  I called her once we were through and gave her a few facts about her gift.

It was my mother’s charm bracelet and was very old.  In fact my grandson and I had to really work to get the tarnish off (just use a bowl covered in aluminum foil, put the article in the bottom, sprinkle with baking soda and cover with boiling water).  Two times did the trick and it looked amazingly improved.

The bracelet had a lot of western charms and some that looked like coins.  Our hometown had a Spanish explorer for whom we had parades, festivals and a big statue.  I think I remember that my dad got these charms at this particular time of the year.  I don’t remember much about the coin-looking charms.  The charm engraved Tooie was a nickname her niece gave her when she could not pronounce my mother’s actual name.  Since it was nowhere close to the name, it was always surprising to me that this is what her niece came up with, but then again little kids are funny that way.

I am hopeful that this will be special to my daughter and give her some good thoughts of her grandma who died when she was not even one.

Father, I have been thinking more and more about old heirlooms and tradition and memories.  Help me to find ways to share these with my family and to encourage and bless them.  Amen.

Isaiah 40:5

Leave a Reply

