May 2

Sous chef…..

I told my grandson that he was a great sous chef and he asked what that was.  I explained it to him and he laughed. Seriously, he is a great help in the kitchen and I will miss him greatly when he goes home to Tennessee and Virginia.

He can mix up one type of dough while I am doing something else and tonight was no exception.  He made cinnamon roll dough while I worked on pizza and then as I was getting the dinner finished and on the table he made quick sweet dough and I got the bread rising while we ate.

This helped me get things done by 8:00 which is a big blessing.  I hate to be still in the mixing stages at that time as it means that finishing up will be much later.

I will have to plan better when he goes home.  My biggest problem is that I don’t get home early enough to get started on all that needs to be done and make dinner too.  I am trying to use the crock pot better and plan better to avoid this problem, but I am not very good at making it happen at least not so far.

I go to the hospital to visit the Seniors and I try to stay about an hour and hope to leave as they go to dinner which should get me home by 5:15, but I seem to get waylaid and interrupted and often don’t get home until close to 6:00 which is when my time starts to get crunched.

At any rate, I am grateful for my “sous chef” and I am thinking I should try to hire a fill in sous chef for next year.  Summer should not be a problem, but if it is, maybe I will try for a sous chef quicker.

Father, I love how you help me in ways that are so unexpected.  Thank you for the blessings you provide daily.  Amen.

James 1:17

Leave a Reply

