May 7

Another try….

It is rainy today whereas yesterday was sunny, but my grandson and the volunteer decided to give it another try so they drove out the road to check on the shorebirds.  They were pleased to discover that there were many, many more shorebirds and they were closer to the shore.

I am glad they had the opportunity to drive out the road and check out the situation.  Who knows, maybe the rain drove the birds closer to the road.  I have no idea.  I went to the hospital like I do every day and after church on Sundays so they went out the road alone.  Having gone yesterday my grandson knew the way and they had no problems.

After my visit at the hospital I came home to fix chicken pot pie for supper.  It is a fairly time intensive recipe from Cook’s Illustrated, but it is very good and not difficult.  There are just a lot of parts to the recipe.

It is one of my grandson’s favorites (his mother make it often) and it has become a favorite of the volunteer as well.  I suspect part of the appeal is that the chicken is the integral part of the recipe.  She is not overly fond of beef.  Moose is OK, but I do not have a lot of moose and fish is OK too, but she prefers not to have it often.  Hence chicken ranks up there as a good choice.

It is interesting how recipes work.  I have made this particular recipe often and today the biscuits that top the pie were fluffier than normal and yet I followed the recipe exactly.  Who knows what made the difference.  I certainly don’t.

I am thankful for good recipes that all spice to our lives and for the ability to follow them.  Lately I have been thinking of all the people who can’t read and I find it hard to imagine going through life and not being able to read.  I am blessed to be able to do so.  Recently we studied a missionary, Frank Laubach, whose made it his life’s work to teach people to read.  He made such a difference.

Father, the blessing of being able to read is huge and I am so thankful for it in my life.  I can’t imagine not being able to read.  Thank you.  Amen.

1 Peter 4:10

Leave a Reply

