May 8

Pansies…..

I went to the Net Loft today and outside the door were two big flower pots filled with pansies–purple, orange, yellow.  They were absolutely gorgeous and they were huge which is not common in Cordova.

I shouldn’t have been surprised to see them as it is the time of year that the hardware stores get plants to sell and they always have pansies.  I think the thing that surprised me was the size of the flowers.

I am going to try to find some and take a pot of them to my friend at the hospital.  I think she will like them and things seem to flourish in the window in her room which is pretty large.

We should start seeing wildflowers soon I think.  The weather is definitely warming up and the ground is thawing so the forget me nots and buttercups should be poking their heads out soon.  Out in the meadows there will be other flowers and then it won’t be long before the lupine that line the road to the airport will be up and in bloom.  I need to keep an eye out for them.

One of the kids was longing for winter and more snow, but I am happy to see Spring and then Summer on the horizon.  I think God’s plan for us is best.  Four seasons, even if they aren’t as pronounced as in other locations, are just what we need to cheer and encourage us.

Father, thank you for flowers, for the seasons that arrive to encourage us, and for your loving plan of creation which blesses us every day.  Amen.

2 Corinthians 9:15

Leave a Reply

