May 25

Technologically savvy???….

I would have never used those words to describe myself and maybe they don’t apply in this situation. Maybe a better choice is technologically unafraid.

I remember being terrified I would ruin something irreparable if I made a mistake on the computer when I first learned to use it.  But that is definitely not the case anymore. I will try most anything to get something to work when I am using technology.  But I can see that is not true of everyone even though they are considerably younger than I am.

Today was a good example of that.  Someone called from the church because they couldn’t get the sound to work on the downstairs system.  I tried to describe what to do and I can see that my descriptions need to be improved, but they still had no sound.

I ran over to the church and turned the right knobs and voila, sound.  I saw that I described the row of knobs incorrectly, but the thing that got me was that they did not try any other knobs to see if they worked.  I would have turned everyone.  That is what I mean by technologically unafraid.

It is interesting to me how different we are in our approach to technology.  I still admit to being a little hesitant at times at school, but even there I am getting bolder all the time and I am willing to try things to get the result I want.

My husband used to remind me that I wouldn’t break anything and ask what was the worst thing that could happen.  When I tearfully said I could ruin it, he laughed and said, “So?”  We could replace it.  I knew that was true, but I hated to think of the expense.  He just continued to laugh and encouraged me to try.  Maybe that is why I am unafraid today.

God’s word encourages us to be unafraid, to be courageous, to have a spirit of power, love and self-control.  I believe those are words we should heed.  It certainly makes life freer and gives us less timidity.  And those are characteristics I want.

Father, help me conquer any fear that remains in me.  Help me to totally trust in you.  Amen.

Joshua 1:9; Deuteronomy 31:6; 1 Timothy 1:7

Leave a Reply

