May 31

VBS keeps growing…..

which is a huge blessing.  It is great to see the kids singing praises to Jesus and really listening to the Bible stories.  I am so thankful.

It is so interesting to see how the different kids respond to the events of VBS.  Some of them have eyes filled with delight and interest, while others look downcast and almost sad.

Some kids play the games with gusto and have so much fun and others seem to want to watch from the sidelines unless the leader calls to them.

It makes me wonder if they came to VBS willingly or if their parents pushed them to come.  And then too some of them differ in their approach and outlook throughout the time they are at VBS.  I can’t quite figure it out.

One girl asked me in all seriousness what VBS stood for.  She was new today.  I will be interested to see if she returns tomorrow.  I hope so. She entered right in and seemed to really like all of the activities.

It always amazes me that some kids know next to nothing about God and Jesus and the stories in the Bible.  It reminds me that we live in our own mission field and we need to always be on the alert and cognizant of sharing the Good News with others.  We don’t have to leave home to find someone to share the Gospel with.

I love VBS.  It is just the perfect “vehicle” for spreading the Good News across our community and I want to plan an end of summer VBS event to draw kids to Sunday School and Good News Kids and Kids of the Kingdom.  I’ve had this idea for awhile and this is the year to make it happen.

Father, thank you for VBS and the opportunity we have to share the Good News with others. Help me to be cognizant of each and every kid and their needs.  Amen.

I Timothy 6:18

Leave a Reply

