June 21

Rhythms of grace….

This morning in my devotional time I read some Scripture that really resonated with me.  “Learn the unforced rhythms of grace” Matthew recorded Jesus saying.

To me this means that there should be a rhythm to our life, a balance between work and rest, between work and play or fun.  I definitely need to take this to heart.  I tend to be an all or nothing person and I err on the side of work.  I find striking a balance to be really hard.  When I do stop working, for example, to sit and rest a few minutes, I often read and then I read too long.  The balance eludes me big time.

I know that all work and no play is not good and I do need to find those rhythms of grace in my life.  I think one way for me to do this is to keep those words front and center before me.  I wrote them in my journal where I keep a daily Mind Map.  I need to write them down again.

This is not the first time I have read them, but obviously I have not heeded them very well as I have been working and working and working and taking little time for rest.  Yesterday the acupuncturist told me I should take a nap and try to lay low since I did not feel my usual self.  She thought perhaps I was on the verge of getting something.  I actually did take a nap and I didn’t do all the things I had planned to do.  This morning I work up feeling much better and I was glad I had followed her advice.  But really it is the advice of Jesus.  I found a better rhythm of grace yesterday.  I did accomplish some stuff on my work list, but it was small and I took lots of time to rest during the day.

This needs to be a lesson for me and I need to keep writing that scripture down until it is engraved upon my heart.

Father, you know best.  Help me to accept that the let me follow your command to learn the unforced rhythms of grace.  Help them to permeate my life.  I love you.  Amen.

Matthew 11:25-30  (The Message)

Leave a Reply

