June 23

My son’s birthday….

I called my son to wish him happy birthday and I sang the traditional tune to him as is the custom in our family.

I well remember when he was born in California.  It was in the morning and my husband had taken me to the hospital just after midnight when my water broke.  They told me he wouldn’t be born for at least 17 hours, but he fooled them and came just 8 hours later.

Birthdays are a time of looking back and today I have thought a lot about his growing up.   I remember when we discovered he played ball right-handed rather than left handed like we assumed since he ate and wrote with his lefthand.  I remember when he got into a disagreement playing with friends and his dad told him to go outside and hit his friends.  (I never did know if his dad really intended for my son to do that.)  Our son was indignant and told his father that Jesus wouldn’t like it.  Then he jumped down from his dad’s lap, ran outside, the disagreement forgotten and played the rest of the afternoon happily.  (Little kids are so funny that way.)

I remember his salutatorian speech at graduation and the tears that caused among many, including him.  I had anticipated this and told him it might happen and he told me that was OK, he was determined to stick with his topic of giving thanks. (He was a hit.)

I could go on and on, but suffice it to say that today was a good day of memories and thinking of all he means to me and how special his love is.  I see so many kids who are not very thoughtful of their parents and it grieves me.  I look at my son and see a man I can be proud of and one who serves Jesus which has always been my deepest desire.

I have much for which to be thankful.  I am truly blessed by this son.

Father, you have given me a great gift.  A son (and a daughter) who love and serve you.  I am so thankful and so blessed.  I count them among my greatest gifts next to your gift of eternal life.  Amen.

Matthew 16:19

Leave a Reply

