June 24

Corn on the cob…..

The grocery store had fresh corn on the cob.  I mean it was corn still in the husk and not removed like usual.  I bought some and brought it home with my other groceries.

Not much later I cooked it in the microwave and stood at my counter with the butter dripping down, enjoying every mouthful.  It was extremely sweet and super delicious.Fresh corn on the cob is one of my summer favorites and I really enjoyed every bite.

Having fresh corn on the cob reminds me of other summer treats as a child–eating beefsteak tomatoes over the sink with my mother, picking boysenberries, eating fresh cherries, peaches and nectarines and squash.

There are so many wonderful, delicious summer fruits and vegetables.  Living in Alaska in this remote community means we do not have access to all of them, but when one comes available, we take advantage of it and I truly relish each one that comes my way.

God has provided a bounty of wonderful food for us to enjoy and it is a blessing for which I give thanks.  I have learned not to take it for granted like I did when I lived in California.  I am sorry that I did not appreciate it more.

Father, forgive me for not being more thankful as a child and young adult.  Thank you now for the bounty you provide and for the opportunity to enjoy it this summer.  You are amazing.  Amen.

Genesis 1:29

 

Leave a Reply

