June 2

Little children…

We had a funny day at Sunday School today.  All of the kids were girls and all were under 7.  I took them to the preschool room to play before the lesson.  We usually play downstairs in the Big Room, but it wasn’t ready for play and the games we usually play were not the best for kids of this age.  The little girls loved playing with the games and the dollies so it was a good choice.

One little girl in particular has not been here for a long time and she was a little weepy.  We managed to divert her attention every time the tears started, but it was plain that she was missing her mom.  She brought a much older little girl with her and she took on the role of a big sister and assured me all was well.

I always think this is rather funny when kids do this.  It is like they aren’t sure the adult knows just what to do. I always accept their advice although I don’t always act on it and I try to reassure them that all is well and that I appreciate their help.  Who knows they may grow up to become a teacher some day.

God knows all the part of our story and He is in charge so I don’t have to worry about this.  I only need to do what is right in front of me and do it to the best of my ability.  There is no doubt that I struggle with this and have over the course of my life.  I tend to think I need to know when what I really need to do is rest in God’s everylasting arms and trust him for every little detail.  I don’t know why this is so hard for me, but I have struggled with this for years and years.  I pray I am getting better.  I know I am learning to lean on Scripture more and to trust more fully, but it is hard for me.

Father, I don’t know why I find not knowing so difficult when I do know you will do what is best.  Help me to trust you fully today and every day.  I love you. Amen.

Psalm 56:3-4; Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

