July 5

Physical therapy…

I just came home from my Physical Therapy appointment.  This particular therapist is giving me exercises to strengthen my core so my muscles will do a better job of holding me up.

Since I had my hip replacement in 2014 I have been to many physical therapists and they are all very different.  They differ in the exercises they prescribe, they differ in the way they treat you as a person, and they differ in their approach to my scoliosis.

I like this particular therapist.  He seems to be a no nonsense person and he is easy to get along with.  He takes me at my word (the answers to his questions) and he is not difficult to work with.

The trick now is to fall into a rhythm and be consistent in doing the exercises at home.  Some of them are easy to do at any time and anywhere, but others take a more structured approach and it is easy for me to skip them.  Since the whole purpose of going to PT is to strengthen my core, I need to be consistent in doing them.  I am working on this.  I am the type of person who needs to plan it in my day.

I’ll say one thing, just sitting here at the computer, I am very aware of sitting up straight and trying to use my muscles to hold myself up.  I don’t think I have ever been conscious of that much before this particular therapist. For that I am very thankful.

Father, you are so good to me and you put the right people in my life at just the right time.  Thank you so much.  I love you.  Amen.

Psalm 100:4, 106;1

Leave a Reply

