July 7

Getting ready…

Tomorrow is our first Hidden Treasures event.  I have been trying to come up with a type of replacement for the Salvation Army Thrift Store which closed about 6 weeks ago.  I decided to have the Christian Center host a sale where the tables are free and people can bring whatever they want to buy, sell, trade or give away.  My big requirement is that they take all of their leftover stuff with them when the event is over.

I ended up having trouble getting people to help put out the tables which are really heavy.  I got two folks to do it and I went to the Center to help.  I was surprised that the things in our big room had not been put away, but I contacted them and they promised to do it in the morning.

Getting ready makes me realize how important it is to be prepared.  I thought I was prepared, but I neglected to get two helpers in advance and I relied on helpers I probably needed to encourage.

In contrast getting ready for eternity takes just the confession of faith and Jesus promises us salvation.  I believe that we need to accompany that confession with a life of discipleship and living for him.  It involves using our gifts to encourage others and to serve Him.  We prepare ourselves with prayer and Bible study.

Getting ready is a lifetime commitment to Jesus.

Father, thank you for giving me the opportunity to confess my faith in you.  Thank you for the promise of Salvation.  Thank you for encouraging me to use my gifts for you.  You are amazing.  Amen.

Ephesians 2:8-9

Leave a Reply

