July 17-23

Family Reunion….

If I could use two words to summarize our family reunion, I would say water sports.  We went paddle boarding, jet skiing, sailing, riding on a pontoon boat and tubing, playing at a water park and swimming in the pool where we stayed. We also went to a cave, but that was the only non water sport activity we engaged in.

Of course Missouri is hot and humid so the water activities were a welcome respite to the weather.

The kids all had a great time playing different games that they brought.  They watched a few movies and had fun in the pool in the evenings too.  (We prevented them from swimming in the middle of the day to prevent sunburn in spite of using sunscreen.  It was truly hot.)

The one thing that I was disappointed in really was my responsibility.  We could not all sit down at a table as a family to eat.  This was a VRBO (Vacation Rental by Owner).  I guess I was so focused on the number of beds and the proximity of the pool that I neglected to look at the kitchen and dining situation.  Our last family reunion was in 2015 and the VRBO we stayed in there had a huge dining table with chairs to accommodate everyone and I think I just assumed this place would be similar.  The kitchen was very small.  It was adequate, but definitely did not allow more than two people to be busy at the same time.  It was also limited in supplies which I found interesting.  I think most people who stayed there ate out a lot which we did not do.

But the important thing for family reunions is making memories, catching up with one another and having fun together.  This spot at Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri fulfilled those expectations well.  The eating area was just a minor inconvenience, but I will look more closely at that aspect for the next reunion.

One of the special aspects of the family reunion was the plans everyone wanted to suggest for future reunions and other possible times to get together.  The fact that both of my kids now live in the Central Time Zone and are just about nine and half hours apart by car means that they may see each other more frequently which would be great.  I really want them to stay connected.  I have never been consistently connected to my brother which I regret.  My husband and my sister in law were very close and I am still close to her since my husband died.  I want my kids to be as close as possible given their very different lives.  That’s really why I started the family reunions in the first place.

All in all I was happy with the time we had together and with the memories we made together.

Father, thank you for the blessing of the time we spent together.  Thank you for the memories we made and the love we shared.  I was blessed every day.  Amen.

John 14:26

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

