August 13

Memories…

We are learning about God looking on the heart of David in the Bible rather than the outside as Samuel had thought.  I asked the kids what stories they remembered about David and only one child could tell me a story about David.

I thought this was interesting as kids typically tell you that they know all about a particular Bible character and don’t want to hear about him again.  I think this may be truer of older kids and I plan to pay attention to the age of the kids who say this, but most of the time they usually remember something.

This just reinforces my belief that you can never repeat a Bible story too many times. There is always something more to learn.

I was also interested to hear a second grade girl and a fourth grade boy comparing notes on their siblings, a 16 year old and an 11 year old.  Both kids agreed that their brothers just played video games and watched You Tube all the time in their opinion.  From what I have observed of students in school, playing video games and watching You Tube seem to be consuming passions.  I have seen kids miss turning in work or even completing it due to these activities.

I’m for more parental monitoring and especially the content of these games and videos.  I believe we need to help our kids see the value in other activities and in spending some time learning the stories and truths of the Bible.  I don’t think we have to knock them over their heads with it, but we do need to move them along in this way.

It is our responsibility and should be our goal as parents and teachers.

Father, help me to set a good example for others and to encourage them to limit video games and You Tube videos.  Help me to teach them about you and your words.  Amen.

Proverbs 1:5; 2 Timothy 3:16

 

 

Leave a Reply

