Arguing: Does it do any good?

Today I have been surrounded by arguments.  And it appears to me that arguments don’t do any good.

Arguments get people upset, they elevate the atmosphere from congeniel to combative.  They simply aren’t worth the effort they involve.

A more peaceable solution would be to discuss the situation calmly and try to negotiate a compromise.  I’m all for a healthy debate, but I am not for arguing.  I am not any good at it and I tend to give in just to get it over with so I know it is not for me.

Jesus had a little bit to say about arguing himself.  He specifically spoke about being peacemakers in his sermon on the mount and he said those people would be blessed.

If we can keep our heads while those around us are losing theirs we can bring the calm, cool voice of reason to the situation and hopefully act as a peacemaker.

I know this is what I want to be known as and it is path I will undertake every time I am confronted with an argument.

God bless you as you strive to be a peacemaker too.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.