May 29

Our first day of VBS…

We had 38 kids today which was a great first day turnout, especially for the first week after school is out.

Lots of people worried that kids wouldn’t come this week, but this was the week I could count on my helpers and I knew I needed to trust Jesus that the kids would come.  This was also the week that worked best for me and I had to remind myself that I needed to do what I felt would best for all of us.

I am so thankful for the way in which Jesus works everything out.  I am thankful for the leaders and the helpers and for the VBS kids.  I am thankful for the offering we are collecting for our Compassion kids, for the snacks that people have made and for the supplies we have to us.  I am thankful for the curriculum that really helps us share Jesus in a wonderful way.  The songs are catchy, the rotation stations–Bible story, crafts, music, missions and recreation and snack are all just what we need to teach kids.  The worship rally for the opening and closing bring everything together in just the right way to reach the kids.  It is amazing.

I have T shirt that proclaims I love VBS with a huge red heart.  I love to wear it at VBS because it says just what I feel.  I do love VBS.  When we first moved to Cordova and we had VBS, we had the only VBS.  Now every church has a VBS this summer.  Kids love to go to them and I contend that you can’t get too much learning about Jesus.  Two of them are using the same curriculum, but ours is unique and that works well for me.

Father, thank you for VBS.  It is the greatest and I do love it.  I am thankful we are able to have it and to teach kids about you.  Help us to do the best job ever.  Amen.

2 Timothy 3:16-`7

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.